Skip to content

Broadcast Excellence Awards

The Broadcast Excellence Awards recognize outstanding achievements in broadcasting by Michigan radio and television stations.

The Michigan Association of Broadcasters' Broadcast Excellence Awards (BEA) Announcement Show is the kickoff to a multi-week celebration of our industry as a part of the annual Broadcast Excellence Awards.

The MAB will unveil select winners, and finalists in the weighted categories that determine the Stations of the Year, during the BEA Announcement Show.

The show includes special guests and announcements from inside the Motown Museum, Comerica Park, and Sound Board inside the MotorCity Casino Hotel in Detroit.

Those recognized will be invited to the in-person Broadcast Excellence Awards red-carpet gala on Saturday, April 29 at Sound Board beginning with a reception at 6 p.m. and the awards program starting at 7 p.m.


MET and Enbridge

Save the Date! Broadcast Excellence Awards Gala

Saturday, April 29, 2023
Sound Board
MotorCity Casino Hotel, Detroit
6:00 - 7:00 pm Reception
7:00 - 10:00 pm Dinner & Awards
soundboard logo

MotorCity Casino Hotel Booking Information
Please book your hotel room at this link. The MAB has a special group rate of $229/night for single or double occupancy rooms. All rooms must be booked by April 8, 2023 to receive the discounted rate.

Commercial and Network Radio Category Winners and Finalists

Public Radio and Television Category Winners and Finalists

Commercial and Network Television Category Winners and Finalists

Market Divisions

Commercial Radio

Market 1: Detroit Metro Area

Market 2: Ann Arbor, Battle Creek, Flint, Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo, Lansing, & Tri-Cities

Market 3: Adrian, Cadillac, Jackson, Port Huron, & Traverse City

Market 4: Alpena, Escanaba, Marquette, & Others

Commercial Television

Market 1: Detroit Metro Area

Market 2: Flint, Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo, & Tri-Cities

Market 3: Cadillac, Jackson, Lansing, & Traverse City

Market 4: Alpena, Escanaba, Marquette, & Others

Statewide Broadcasting Networks


To enter in the Statewide Broadcasting Networks divisions, entrants must be a Michigan-based producer of network and syndicated programming. Entry must be aired on Michigan licensed broadcast stations. Statewide broadcasting networks are not eligible for Station of the Year.

Public Radio

Group 1: Public radio stations with a $2 million budget or less.

Group 2: Public radio stations with more than a $2 million budget.

Public Television

All public television stations will compete in one public television division

Station of the Year

All public and commercial radio and TV stations entering the Broadcast Excellence Awards will be eligible for the Station of the Year.

Commercial Station of the Year Awards: Points for Station of the Year will be calculated as follows: Best Award = 10 points; Merit Award = 5 points; and 10 additional points per winning entry (both Best and Merit) will be awarded in the following weighted categories:

Commercial Radio
Community Involvement
Continuing Coverage

*Stations may enter any of the listed Personality categories. If a station wins Best or Merit in more than one Personality category, the highest points won in any of the Personality categories will be applied to the Station of the Year competition.

Commercial Television
Community Involvement
Breaking News Story

Public Radio & Television Awards: Points for Station of the Year will be calculated as follows: Best Award = 10 points; Merit Award = 5 points with the exception of the Station Excellence category.

For a station to be eligible for Station of the Year they must have entered the Station Excellence category. The winners of both the Best and the Merit Award in the Station Excellence category will receive an additional 60 points to be counted toward Station of the Year.

Tie Breaker
In the event of a tie for both commercial and public stations, the station with the most Best awards will be awarded Station of the Year.  If a tie remains, the station who placed highest in the Community Involvement category will be awarded Station of the Year.

Broadcast Excellence Awards Categories

Broadcast Excellence Awards Rules

Scroll To Top