Skip to content

Winners Announced in 2020 MAPME Broadcast Contest

The annual Michigan Associated Press Media Editors broadcast competition has announced their winners in the 2020 Michigan APME awards.

In the broadcast category, General Excellence awards for 2020 went to WLNS-TV (Lansing); WDET-FM (Detroit) and WKAR-AM/FM (East Lansing).

Michigan’s APME’s “Rising Star” broadcast award went to Angeline McCall of WXMI-TV (Grand Rapids).

The Kalamazoo Gazette won the First Amendment Award for outstanding accomplishment in pursuing freedom of information. The newspaper won with its entry, “Kalamazoo’s Closed Door Meetings.” The award was open to entries from both newspapers and broadcast stations.

See the complete list of winning entries here.

TAPME is a nonprofit group of newsroom leaders and journalism educators that works closely with the Associated Press to promote journalism excellence. The Michigan chapter of the APME announced the awards on April 14.

Scroll To Top