Skip to content

3 Current and Former Michigan Broadcasters Nominated for 2022 Radio Hall of Fame

(L-R) Mojo, Kevin Matthews, Laurie DeYoung

The Museum of Broadcast Communications has announced the Radio Hall of Fame 2022 nominees. Among the 24 were three past and current Michigan-based personalities:  Mojo in the Morning at WKQI-FM (Detroit); former Grand Rapids personality Kevin Matthews and former Grand Rapids personality Laurie DeYoung.

Mojo in the Morning is currently heard on WKQI-FM as well as WSNX-FM (Grand Rapids) and WVKS (Toledo).  The show is hosted by Mojo, Spike and Shannon and earned the distinction of being the longest-running FM morning program in Michigan history. The show actively supports various charities and has launched two local charities: the “Breaking & Entering Christmas Wish” (where they show up on the recipient’s doorstep with clothing, food, toys and Christmas trees) and “Time Team” (where they encourage listeners to donate their time for various community service projects).[The show also donated proceeds from sales made for CDs of their “Phone Scam” segments.

Kevin Matthews, who started his career at WGRD-FM (Grand Rapids) is best known for his long tenure at WLAV-FM, first in the 1980s and later from 2005-2007.  He also spent many years on-air in Chicago, most notably at WLUP-AM/FM. He’s known for doing voices, including that of his irascible sidekick, sportscaster Jim Shorts.  Matthews is currently programming an Internet radio station in Western Michigan.

Laurie DeYoung, who has been with WPOC-FM (Baltimore) for 35-years, started her career at WMUZ-FM (Detroit) in 1975, with stints at WSHN (Fremont)  WYGR, WCUZ, WLAV, WTWN and WKLQ (Grand Rapids) and KBST (San Diego, Calif.) before arriving at WPOC in 1985. During her career in Baltimore, DeYoung has been nominated for multiple Billboard, R&R and CMA awards.

See the complete list of nominees here.

Scroll To Top