Skip to content

NAB Statement on House Judiciary Committee Markup of American Music Fairness Act

December 9, 2022

nab logoIn response to the House Judiciary Committee's markup of the American Music Fairness Act (AMFA), the following statement can be attributed to NAB CEO and President Curtis LeGeyt:

"NAB thanks the members of the House Judiciary Committee who voted against the AMFA today, and the more than 250 members of Congress – including a majority of the House of Representatives – that support a resolution opposing this new performance royalty on local radio. These lawmakers understand that AMFA will harm local broadcasters and audiences around the country, undermine our ability to serve their communities and ultimately fail artists by leading to less music airplay. Broadcasters urge the recording industry to join us in serious discussions instead of using the few legislative days left in the calendar to pursue divisive legislation that faces broad congressional opposition.

Broadcasters have gained strong bipartisan support from legislators across the country to support the Local Radio Freedom Act, which opposes a new performance royalty on radio, and is supported by more than 250 members of the House and Senate.

The MAB thanks the following members of Congress from Michigan for their support of the Local Radio Freedom Act.

Jack Bergman
Debbie Dingell
Bill Huizenga
Lisa McClain
John Moolenaar
Fred Upton
Tim Walberg



Scroll To Top