Skip to content

Michigan AP Announces 2022 Broadcast Awards

July 21, 2023

michigan apme logoThis past Wednesday (7/19), the annual Michigan Associated Press Media Editors broadcast competition has announced winners in the 2022 Michigan APME awards.

In the broadcast category, General Excellence awards for 2022 went to WLNS-TV (Lansing), WDET-FM (Detroit) and WKAR-AM/FM (East Lansing).

In the television category, WLNS-TV won a total of 13 awards, WNEM-TV (Saginaw) and WJRT-TV (Flint) received 6 awards each and WJBK-TV (Detroit) was recipient of 5 awards.

Michigan’s Public Radio stations dominated the radio categories in all market sizes.  In the Radio I category, WDET-FM received a total of 15 awards, followed by Michigan Radio (Ann Arbor) with 12.  In the Radio II category, WKAR-AM/FM was recipient of 20 awards and WGVU-FM (Grand Rapids) was honored with 8 awards.

Michigan APME’s “Rising Star” broadcast award went to Rachel Ishikawa of Michigan Radio.

See the complete list of winning entries from both print and broadcast here.

TAPME is a nonprofit group of newsroom leaders and journalism educators that works closely with the Associated Press to promote journalism excellence.

Scroll To Top